West Yorkshire

Garforth is a town in the Leeds metropolitan district of West Yorkshire.

The town is about 7 miles east of Leeds, 9 miles south-west of Tadcaster, 10 miles north-east of Wakefield and 15 miles west of Selby.

Garforth did not have the makings of a town until the Victorian era. Before that time it consisted of a small village at Church Garforth and, across the fields, separate hamlets at Garforth Bridge, West Garforth, Moor Garforth and East Garforth.

Up to that time the main activities in the area had been agriculture, with a corn mill at Garforth Bridge, and also coal mining and quarrying.

The Main Street of the town was developed during Victorian times, stretching south along an existing lane from Moor Garforth, where a station had recently been opened.

However, it is only since the middle of the 20th century that new housing, schools, shops and some industrial units have seen the developed area of Garforth quadruple in size. The second station in the town at East Garforth is a relatively recent addition, just over 30 years old, to help commuting from residential developments in the area.

The most northern section of the M1 motorway, running just north of Garforth, is an even more recent addition, having been opened in 1999.

 Town features

The town has pubs and social clubs.
Garforth has local traders and a supermarket.
The town has Post Offices.
The town has pharmacies.
Takeaway food outlets in the town include fish and chips, chinese, curries, pizzas, burgers, sandwiches.
The town has cafes and coffee shops.
Restaurant and bistro dining can be found in Garforth.
Places to stay in Garforth include hotel accommodation.
Garforth has a community hall - Garforth Miners Welfare Hall.
The town has a library.
Garforth has schools.
Places of worship: Anglican, Catholic, Methodist, other.


Bus travel

The town has bus services to neighbouring towns and villages and city centre.

Garforth station

Managed by: Northern
Operator/s: Northern - TransPennine Express -

Northern - Garforth   Station and departure information at Northern website.

East Garforth station

East Garforth station is just over half a mile east of Garforth station.
Managed by: Northern
Operator/s: Northern -

Northern - East Garforth   Station and departure information at Northern website.

Road travel

Garforth can be reached via the A63 A642 B6137

Places to visit

Middleton Railway

Middleton Railway

Moor Road, Hunslet, Leeds
The world's oldest working railway is now operated by volunteers who run trains mostly at weekends. The railway was first opened as a horse-drawn colliery railway in 1758 and was the first to successfully use steam locomotives commercially in 1812. The line was not built as a passenger railway, but solely for carrying coal. Passengers can now make the journey between Moor Road station and Park Halt at the edge of the attractive woodland of Middleton Park, where there are displays about the past coal mining in the area. The line has a timetable of diesel and steam operating days and special events and the engine shed is a celebration of the numerous manufacturers, among them Hudson, Hudswell Clarke and Manning Wardle, which once made Leeds the biggest producer of railway locomotives in the country. The railway is about 2 miles south of Leeds city centre close to Junctions 5 & 6 of the M621.

More information at the  Middleton Railway website.

Temple Newsam House

Temple Newsam House

Temple Newsam Road, off Selby Road, near Colton, Leeds
Temple Newsam House dates from Tudor and Jacobean times and is surrounded by more than 600 hectares of parkland and gardens, which include a rare breeds farm. The gardens were designed by Lancelot 'Capability' Brown in the 1760s. Leeds City Council now own the country house and estate, which is open to the public. The house has previously been used as an art museum but there has now been refurbishment of rooms to period styles to match the outstanding restored exterior of this Grade I listed building. There are fees for admission to the house and to the farm.
More information at the  Temple Newsam House pages of the Leeds City Council website.

Royal Armouries Museum

Armouries Drive, Leeds Dock, Leeds
The Royal Armouries opened a museum in Leeds in 1996 to display some of the large national collection of arms and armour historically based at the White Tower of the Tower of London. Housed in a purpose-built modern building at Leeds Dock, near the city centre, arms and armour from Britain and across the world is exhibited in themed galleries, with a programme of live shows and demonstrations. The museum opens daily from 10am to 5pm with last admisssion at 4.30pm.
More details at the  Royal Armouries website.

Emergency services

West Yorkshire Police  West Yorkshire Police website.

West Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service  West Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service website.

Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust  Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust website.

Local government

Metropolitan district council

City of Leeds

The City of Leeds authority covers an area extending several miles beyond the city itself, including areas of agricutural land with widely spaced villages to the north east and several separate small towns including Garforth, Guiseley, Morley, Otley, Pudsey, Rothwell, Wetherby and Yeadon.

Leeds is just one of a ring five metropolitan councils covering the many cities, towns and villages of the conurbation of West Yorkshire. Around one-third of the West Yorkshire population live in the Leeds metropolitan district, just over ¾ million at the time of the 2011 census.

In the City of Leeds metropolitan district a total of 99 councillors are elected. There are three councillors per ward across 33 wards. Councillors are usually elected for four-year terms, one councillor being elected in each of three years out of four. In 2018 all 99 were elected following a ward boundary review. A Lord Mayor of Leeds is elected from the council each year. An election of one-third of the council due to be held in 2020 has been postponed to 2021.

Link to  Leeds City Council website.

The political composition after the May 2019 election was:

572385 MBI3 GSIG3
99 members   MBI = Morley Borough Independents. GSIG = Garforth and Swillington Independent Group.

County strategic authority

West Yorkshire Combined Authority
Covers some combined services of the five metropolitan district councils of West Yorkshire - Bradford, Calderdale, Leeds, Kirklees and Wakefield - which were at one time provided by a West Yorkshire metropolitan county council, with the addition of the non-contiguous City of York council and unelected Leeds City Region Enterprise Partnership.
 West Yorkshire Combined Authority website.

Police and Crime Commissioner

The Police and Crime Commissioner for West Yorkshire
 Police and Crime Commissioner West Yorkshire website.

Fire Authority

West Yorkshire Fire Authority
The fire authority is made up of elected members of each of the five metropolitan district councils of West Yorkshire - Bradford, Calderdale, Leeds, Kirklees and Wakefield.
 West Yorkshire Fire Authority web pages.

Ceremonial county

West Yorkshire


Within the West Riding of Yorkshire

Also in

 New     Places to visit     Gazetteer - a website. Made in Yorkshire UK   |  Terms of use  |  Privacy policy  with  No cookies  |  Contact  |