Huddersfield Film Makers Club | Introduction


Huddersfield Filmmakers Club Meeting Our 2024 Annual General Meeting was held on Friday April 12, 2024 where members re-elected officials, approved accounts and discussed future events.

Ian Pheasey and Stewart Gledhill continue as chairman and secretary respectively and Trevor Spencer was thanked for his many years of service as treasurer as Michael Walkley officially took up the role.

The chairman set a subject of "Design for Living" as his Chairman's Challenge with films inspired by the theme to be shown at our September meeting.

At the end of the meeting, two trophy presentations were made.

Film of the Year winners: Gordon and Anne Sharp Film of the Year winners: Gordon and Anne Sharp The first was for the club's Annual Film Competition, judged by members' votes at our March meeting. The competition attracted 15 entries and votes were widely spread across several of the films. The winner with the most votes was the film "Rock Formation" by Gordon and Anne Sharp, showing how sweet sticks of rock are made. They were presented with the club's Film of the Year trophy.

A trophy for the Best Fiction Film in the Yorkshire Movie Makers Ten Minute Film Competition was presented to Stewart Gledhill. His film "Reflections in the Water" was entered on behalf of the club.

The meeting marked the start of a third year at our venue at The Friends Meeting House, 34, Church Street, Paddock, Huddersfield, HD1 4TR. Details of upcoming meetings can be found on our Home page.


Subscriptions for 2024-5 are now due at an unchanged rate (£20 single, £25 couples).

Home Awards Donation 2022 YMM winner